Catching Up on Cakes

I finished Course I of Wilton Cake Decorating. I have the diploma to prove it. Yeah, that’s a valuable piece of 8 1/2 x 11 paper. Anyway, the class was fun so Penny and I are taking Course II. It starts this Tuesday and focuses on flowers made from royal icing. The icing is the kind that hardens that little kids think is fun to eat and adults leave on the side of their plates.

The class requires only one cake. Until the last class, we just make flowers that are saved to put on the graduation cake.

I’m missing the first class but am hoping Penny really is a good teacher.

In the meantime, here are pics of the graduation cake for Course I (I used banana cake mix and made an awesome peanut butter icing for a filling) and a just-for-fun cake that I took to Josh’s last night for the Flyers last game against the Canadiens (it was white cake with chocolate mousse filling).

Look what I did!

I didn’t write anything on the cake because I worried that not everyone at work would appreciate “free food” on a cake. Maybe next time.

Ooh, pretty

The infamous Wilton rose. They take a lickin’ and keep on tickin’ as evidenced by the flower at 8:30. It fell face down on the table but was salvageable.

Conference finals, here we come

I hate my writing. I hate making hundreds of tiny stars. Can’t do anything about the writing but I did buy a tip that lets me make 3 stars at once. One-third less crampy pain!

4 thoughts on “Catching Up on Cakes

Leave a Reply

