Cardinals

I think my cardinals are dead. At least the babies. Mrs. C hasn’t been near the nest in 2 or 3 days. A couple of days before that, she and Mr. C were hopping around the rhododendron but avoiding the nest itself. Yesterday, I noticed a chickadee on a branch near the nest. If it were my nest, I wouldn’t let another bird come near my eggs or my baby cardinals. Mrs. C didn’t show up to defend the place, and there were no loud chirps of warning.

I think something happened to the eggs if there were eggs there to begin with. I never saw Mrs C feed babies. Last year, I saw a robin mother feed her kids. And there were a few eggshell pieces on the ground below the nest with the robins. Either cardinals don’t clean out the nest or there were no eggs or they didn’t hatch and something went wrong.

I’d like to think that the eggs are still there but it was cold the last couple of nights and rainy. Mrs. C wasn’t there to keep the place warm. Again, if it were me, I’d be all about protecting my family from the elements or other birds or whatever. 

I could drag a ladder over to bush and try to see in the nest, but I don’t know if I could see in without falling into the bush. Besides, if I don’t look, I can tell myself that the eggs hatched and the chicks matured enough to fly away … all in an unbelievably short time. Sometimes, life is about the lies we tell ourselves to make it through the day.

Leave a Reply

