Aruba – Day 6

July 10, 2009 – Another day in paradise

It is another delightful beach day. I’m once again under a palapa. Although, unless I want a bizarre tan line from the palapa roof, I’ll have to shift my chair fully into the sun.

This may be all I do today – sit on the beach and read or write or just gaze out at the sea.

IMG_0490

I’ve forgotten my PADI certification card, and the dive ship is looking up my number for me. Diving could be on the schedule tomorrow.

I’m keenly aware my vacation ends soon. I don’t want it to. I could stay here for a long time and not get bored. Or I could alternate between long stays on various island beaches and long stays at home. I do miss Eckie. What I don’t miss is my job.

So today’s (and this week’s) lesson, boys and girls, is to remember that our jobs are not our lives. When I get back home, I’m going to work my 40 hours and then go live a life that makes me happy.My job pays my bills, and that’s about it. It does not define who I am.

*  *  *  *

A school of 3″ – 5″ long silver, narrow fish swam in front of me as I headed into the sea to cool off. Probably about 50 or so of them.

When I sat down, some rain clouds passed overhead. Not enough to seek indoors, but enough to move book under palapa. The rain felt like a cool mist.

*  *  *  *

Towels, lots of towelsOn a lighter side, here’s a bathtub full of towels from yesterday (photo courtesy of Penny).

The Westin staff weirdness had not ended. The towels which had been dropped off the night before were gone when housekeeping came to make the beds and take out the trash.

When Mike picked up the police report from the front desk, he got into a conversation with management. They ended up talking security matters (Mike’s work in computer security; the hotel guy’s past in law enforcement), and the hotel guy did the old Columbo “one more thing” question. “Why did you have a batub full of towels?” Funny, we had wondered the same thing – why did housekeeping bring up so many towels? One of the many unsolved mysteries of the Westin Aruba. With one more mystery to come tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

