Closing Out ’09

Last year I mentioned my notebook of Things I Have Read and Seen. It occurs to me now a more grammatical way to write the title of my little notebook would be Things I Read and Saw, but apparently I was taken over by the passive voice when I named the book. Oh well.

For those of you who missed that post or didn’t click the link just now (lazy!), the notebook is where I jot comments on every movie I see and book I read during the year.

Stats for 2009 are up: 56 books and 40 movies in 2009. July and August were big months for books: nine and eight, respectively. January and December were my big movie months: six and seven, respectively. Unlike last year, a month didn’t go by in which I didn’t finish a book or see a movie. And, yes, I’m enough of a loser/geek/nerd/shut-in that I feel a sense of accomplishment.

So what did I like and wish I had never encountered? Ta da. Again, no ranking based on quality or enjoyment. Just a chronological list with some comments from the passively named notebook.

 


 Top Books

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman – Your typical growing up story set in a graveyard, with ghosts and vampires.

Last Night at the Lobster by Stuart O’Nan – I thought this would be a funny book about young adults working in a Red Lobster. Nope, it’s a day-in-the-life story that’s sad and realistic all at the same time.

My Life in France by Julia Child – I finished the book with a determination to go back to Paris and an understanding of how full a life Child led.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson – Everything feels built on a shifting foundation, but you trust Jackson won’t let you tilt too much one way or the other.

Top Movies
Hamlet 2 – Rock me, sexy Jesus!

Right at Your Door – Stumbled across this talky movie about the aftermath of a terrorist attack. I found it engrossing and couldn’t turn it off.

Candleshoe – the old Jodie Foster/Helen Hayes/David Niven Disney film. It stood up to my memory.

Star Trek – One of the best action movies I’ve seen in a long time. The timeline issues didn’t bother me; they’re a pretty bold move.

Wendy and Lucy – The mood of the film was pitch perfect, and the ending was heart-breaking.

What Was I Thinking
Dragonlance: Dragons of Autumn Twilight – The movie earns a spot in this category because I wanted it to be so much better than it was. I loved these books and an animated movie sounded good. Heck, Kiefer Sutherland voices Raistlin. It’s not a good movie. It’s not even an okay movie.

Jack Brooks: Monster Slayer – One of those movies I never would have seen in the theater. Or rented. Or watched on cable. Or ever needed to see. Oh dear God, I just found a sequel in development on IMDB.

Twilight: Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer – What an incredibly long Mary Sue story.

3 thoughts on “Closing Out ’09

Leave a Reply

