Stafford & Atwood

Today brings the second of three Stafford poems making their appearance on the blog during National Poetry Month. “Ask Me” is one of his more well known poems. For me, it’s a poem that resonates. Oftentimes, I’ve found myself hiking or exploring the hills of a battlefield and been stopped by the natural sounds around me. It’s hard to put into words, but there’s something that comes with listening to the wind and the trees, feeling the sun reflect off boulders that manages to say what I feel or what I need to hear at the moment. Sometimes what the river says is what I say.

Yesterday’s Atwood poem made it into the blog thanks to a recent book-club pick of one of her novels. I think The Handmaid’s Tale was the first Atwood I read. Then I ended up in her poetry. Now I’m back to the novels. Chickie Nobs for everyone!

Leave a Reply

