A quick update to “Stop the ‘Reply All’ Madness” for y’awl.

The replies kept coming. And when the site manager sent a second email saying he’d let us all know shortly what we’d be helping out with, more replies came about how blessed and excited people were to be a part of this, information about family life, attempted metajokes and so on. As I told a friend, it wasn’t a group of people over 30 talking – it was a group of teenagers who had just been picked for the homecoming court.

I emailed the site manager and asked to be removed from the management team because I knew the rest of the team would continue to annoy me. He was surprised, but whatever. I’ve also removed myself from that blogging network.

Overreaction? Maybe. But I expect people over 30 years old to act like it. Go figure.

4 thoughts on “

    1. I know, I know. I debated about responding the site manager with a fuller explanation, but although I am judgmental and will share that judgment here, I don’t really want to be that person. And I figured the site manager wouldn’t understand and my explanation wouldn’t change anyone’s behavior.

      I did, however, leave a comment when I deleted my blog from the network to the effect of being disappointed in my interactions with other members thanks to their inability to act like adults.

      1. I was in a similar situation a while back when included on an email. It was an invite or something and I only new one person. 300 emails later I asked people to be more conscious of the reply all and that since I did not know them I would rather not be a part. They took this as a challenge and started bombarding me with email. I actually had to call providers. At this time AOL was big and almost all of them were on there. To to their credit, AOL sent a cease and desist order.
        It is a shame that it had to come to that. People just don’t get it.

        1. Add that to things I don’t get: Why would your asking to be removed from the email chain be seen as a challenge? What can people possibly get out of sending email after email? What gap in their own lives can that possibly fill?

Leave a Reply

