Ideas Can Be Amazing

Day 8 – Today I am thankful for an idea.

A couple of years ago, I came across NaNoWriMo. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a website/event/cult/thing that encourages people to write. Throughout the 30 days of November, participants write a novel (defined as a minimum of 50,000 words). You’re not supposed to come in with a half-finished piece. You start on page 1 and keep going.

The idea is you get a first draft out. Never mind the typos. Just keep writing. Find yourself in a plot-hole? Keep writing. Figure it out later. Just get the story down.

Not everyone likes the project. They have some good reasons. If you want to write, write. Don’t wait until November and spend time on message boards populated by teenagers whining about how their parents don’t understand that the budding authors can’t do homework or chores – they’re writing, sheesh. I hate the project’s message boards.

And I believe not everyone is a writer. You can have an idea, but you need talent or training or skill or all of that to turn your idea into something others would want to read. Then you need willpower and ingenuity to turn that readable thing into something people can read as an actual book.

I’m egotistical enough to say “I’m a writer.” And a pretty decent one at that.

But I lose my ideas in the morass of everyday life, so NaNoWriMo gives me the gumption to say “just do it, idiot.”

I have an idea for this year’s attempt. When this post goes live, I should have several thousand words written to stay on target. But adventure called so I may have nothing. Just an idea. It could be brilliant or it could be interesting only to me and my sister or it could be a ripoff of something else. We’ll see.

But I’ve got an idea.

One thought on “Ideas Can Be Amazing

Leave a Reply

