Speed Racer, Cotton Candy and Sticky Buns

Day 25 of the 30 days of giving thanks. It’s a Friday and if you know the slogan “Saturday is Zern’s day and now we’ve added Friday,” we may have passed each other on the sticky floors of Zern’s Farmer Market one weekend in the 70s or 80s.

For those of you not from the Gilbertsville area, Zern’s (open Friday and Saturday nights only) offers a hodge podge of butchers, bakers, candlestick makers (seriously), quasi-antique stands, produce, camouflage gear and tons more. I don’t think they hold a livestock auction anymore.

It was a regular destination during my childhood, making it an appropriate recipient of thanks today. Penny and I would accompany our dad for the weekly run. He’d pick up sticky buns for breakfast the next day, and Penny and I would get cotton candy and comic books. I grabbed Supergirl and Batgirl, and I think Zern’s introduced me to the George Perez run of Teen Titans.

Those things alone earn Zern’s several thank-yous. But what I remember most about the trips is Speed Racer.

Speed RacerYes, Speed Racer, the cartoon driving ace.

In spite of the drive from home to Zern’s being only about 15 minutes, it was an adventure. I don’t know how it started. Maybe it was to pass the time. Maybe it was just one of those Dotts’ things that happens. But the drive down Rt. 100 was a leg in a car race.

Dad, of course, was Speed. He was the driver, after all. As the elder sister, I was Trixie. Penny, sadly, was relegated to the roles of Spritle or Chim-Chim. This may explain her lack of affection for role-playing games.

I don’t remember us playing Speed Racer on any other trips. But every Friday night on the way for cotton candy, sticky buns, comic books, fruits and vegetables, Speed was behind the wheel of a car on Rt. 100.

I need to mention my dad was a good driver. To Penny and me, we were flying down the road at incredible speeds in the Mach 5. Cars on the other side of the road were at least a lap behind us. And we urged Dad to pass every car he could on our side of the road so we would be in the lead.

Needless to say, we always won.

One thought on “Speed Racer, Cotton Candy and Sticky Buns

  1. I moved to the area as a teen, so I didn’t grow up going to Zern’s but have been there a few times. It really IS a hodge podge! First time I went, I didn’t quite know what to make of it – I think you can find just about anything there. I enjoyed reading about your memories. You remind me of some of my own growing-up times. 🙂

Leave a Reply

