Thoughts on Stevenson

I read “The Land of Counterpane” at my grandparents’ house in Media. At the top of the stairs was a windowseat that opened to reveal a whole bunch of children’s books. Stevenson’s A Child’s Garden of Verses lived there. Counterpane was the only poem that’s stuck with me all these years.

The illustration probably helped. Who wouldn’t want to spend sick days in bed with toy soldiers executing battle plans along the covers?

A Child's Garden of Verses

The artist is Jessie Wilcox Smith. I remember one other illustration from the book. Except for the width of and cushions on the windowset in the picture, that could be me in the drawing. And I now need to track down a print of the illustration to hang somewhere in my house.

Coincidentally, Smith did another favorite illustration of mine. It’s the Little Women illustration you can see here.

Leave a Reply

