So Close Yet Not

Continuing our baking adventures here at Small Pond, last weekend brought a peach crisp to the kitchen lab. It almost worked.

I cobbled together recipes found around the net for the topping and baking temp/time. I mixed some vanilla paste into the sliced peaches. I ended up using 1 cup each of flour and sugar, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/2 cup of cold butter in cubes and a teaspoon or 2 of cinnamon sugar because I apparently am all out of cinnamon. I skipped the oats.

Once assembled, I baked it at 345 for about 45 minutes.

It tastes great (especially with a generous dollop of homemade whipped cream), but the topping never really crisped. I’m not sure whether the peaches produced too much juice (I know, a horrible problem to have, right?) and then saturated most of the topping or whether I needed the oats or maybe the butter should be melted.

The experiment will continue until full success is achieved. In the meantime, any advice for getting a crunchy, amazing crisp topping?

One thought on “So Close Yet Not

Leave a Reply

