What’s Next?

The launch of Bookish.com and a BookRiot post got me thinking about how I discover what books to add to my ever-growing to-read list.

To be honest, I’ve never had that much trouble finding books. I’m friends with enough readers that I have a constant stream of book recommendations coming in. I use Goodreads regularly, and belong to a couple other sites where I find out about new books.

I’m in a book club that meets in real life and one that meets virtually, so that exposes me to some new titles.

For the most part though, I’m filling out the to-read list with Amazon samples of booksfriends tell me about or I’ve heard mentioned on NPR or read about somewhere online.I picked up a Kindle (named Iocane Powder) about 2 years ago. One of my favorite things about it is sending the first chapter or two of a book from Amazon to the device. After I finish an ebook, I’ll spend the next couple of train rides plowing through samples.

Titles I like get transcribed into a library list I keep on my iPhone. Yes, I have a Kindle and I go to the library regularly to check out real books.

Without the samples, I wouldn’t have picked up a biography focusing on Eisenhower’s foreign policy while in the White House. I wouldn’t have read a fascinating novel/history/metathing about the assassination of the Butcher of Prague.

So that’s how I determine what’s next. How do you pick your next book? Do you keep a list of books you mean to read?

3 thoughts on “What’s Next?

Leave a Reply

