Best loved poems

Today’s poem and the previous two come from an anthology that I’ve always loved. My nana had a copy and I would read it when I visited her. She knew I loved it and ended up giving me my own copy when I graduated from high school.

The Best Loved Poems of the American People was first published in 1936. To the best of my knowledge, not many (if any) post-1936 poems have been added. The anthology has an old-fashioned feel, as you can probably guess from the last 3 poems posted here. Yes, some of it can feel simplistic, jingoistic, or overly sentimental or overly religious.

But it was one of my early introductions to poetry, and I still like many of the poems in it. Some of them are by poets unknown to me or history; some are by Kipling and Wordsworth and Longfellow. It’s definitely worth taking a look at.

2 thoughts on “Best loved poems

Leave a Reply

