Really Overdue 2015 Best Of

Taking time off from the blog meant I missed updating annual features. For example, the annual top books/top movies post. The last one I posted was actually a recap of 2012!

So how did 2015 shape up? I read 118 books. Sounds impressive, but it was well short of my Goodreads Reading Challenge goal of 150. This year’s goal is set at 135; I excel at lowering expectations for myself.

8-16-2016 10-44-13 AM

It’s funny. I made a list of my top 10 books of the year even if I didn’t publicize it in January. Looking back on it, I don’t even remember what two of the books were about, and I question the inclusion of one other. That’s why the above graphic has 7 books instead of 10. If I can’t remember them now, how good were they?

The Girl with the All the Gifts – Not your typical zombie story. I think a movie is in the works and I look forward to seeing how some of the story’s effects come to life.

The Waste Lands – This is my favorite of the Gunslinger series. I hope the first movie does well enough to get to this point.

The Haunting of Hill House – It’s a classic. I like how the book plays with the reader. Is Nell crazy? Is she being haunted/possessed? What’s going on? The 1963 movie is a great adaptation that doesn’t clearly answer these questions. The 1999 remake, despite Lili Taylor’s strong performance, has a fireplace try to attack Owen Wilson.

The Queen of the Tearling – Yes, it’s a YA fantasy novel, but I liked how it used some of the genre’s clichés in a new way. I wasn’t as impressed by the sequel.

Landline – This is the book that made me decide to read every book Rainbow Rowell has written.

Uprooted – I picked this up because I like Naomi Novik’s alternate history of the Napoleonic wars that uses dragons. His Majesty’s Dragon is the first in that series. Go read it. Uprooted brought Novik to an original fairy tale that reads like it’s been around for a long time.

Seveneves – This book got a lot of hype when it came out. Deservedly so. I’ll admit I love the first three quarters more than the last, but it’s a great, complex story with realistic characters.

 

One thought on “Really Overdue 2015 Best Of

Leave a Reply

