No Daily Poems This Year

After three years of bringing you a poem every day in April to celebrate National Poetry Month, I’m bowing out of the tradition this year. The blog’s been stagnant lately and I’ve run out of my favorite poems to share.

That doesn’t mean there aren’t more poems I like, but sharing 90 poems is a lot! Thinking about doing it again this year felt like more of a chore than a joy.

So, go back and read the archives or hit up your local library and grab a couple poetry books off the shelf at random. Try an anthology and a collection by an poet you’ve never read.

As for the stagnation, I’m hoping to correct that. Stay tuned for posts about the trip to New Orleans and crock pot chili!

2 thoughts on “No Daily Poems This Year

  1. good blog sites

    Hi there, I believe your site may be having web browser compatibility problems.
    Whenever I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in I.E., it’s
    got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to provide you with
    a quick heads up! Other than that, fantastic blog!

    Reply
  2. sherryfox57

    What a great tradition! But I definitely understand if you’re just not feeling it this year. Your post made me think of one of my favorite poems: “Tell All the Truth,” by Emily Dickinson. “Tell all the truth but tell it slant/Success in circuit lies/Too bright for our infirm delight/The truth’s superb surprise/As lightning to the children eased/With explanation kind/The truth must dazzle gradually/Or every man be blind.” Happy Poetry Month!

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.